Hofstra University Review

Hofstra University is a private, nonsectarian institution of higher education situated in the Village of Hempstead, New York, the United States of America. Founded in 1935, Hofstra University started as an extension of New York University. In 2011 it established a medical school, and also a school of engineering and applied sciences in 2012. In this year the school of Education and Health Sciences and Human Services divided into two schools. Hofstra provides over 20 active fraternities and sororities.
Hofstra is noted for a series of prominent Presidential conferences, and also being chosen to host a United States Presidential Debate in 2008 and 2012. Total enrollment is just more than 11,404, with 7,183 undergraduates and 4,221 graduates, such as law and medicine.
Hofstra University teams had the unofficial nickname of the Flying Dutchmen. The official team name became “The Pride” in 2004, making reference to a pair of lions which started to be the school’s athletic symbolic figures in the late 1980s.
Notable alumni include Francis Ford Coppola, James Caan, David Patterson, Wayne Chrebet, Randy Levine, Rosemarie DeWitt, Philip Rosenthal, Charles Jenkins and others.